top of page

Winter McQuinn - Move To The Trees (TES037)


About The Release

Perhaps known as the frontman of Sunfruits and as the drummer for Jade Imagine, Winter McQuinn’s solo music explores psychedelic country and folk rippling with a free-ness similar to Nick Drake, Syd Barrett, Kevin Ayers and more modern 70s soft rock purveyors like Michael Rault and Drugdealer. His impressive 2021 debut album A Rabble Of Bees marked the beginning of Winnie’s solo wanderings, showcasing his songwriting talents and DIY inventiveness. 

Winter McQuinn’s sophomore solo album Move To The Trees is set for April 5th via Third Eye Stimuli Records and Echodelick Records (USA). McQuinn recorded the new album in April 2022 over one weekend in Anglesea, Victoria with Jesse Williams (Leah Senior, Grace Cummings, Traffik Island) as engineer and producer. 'Move To The Trees' showcases a more refined and sonically sophisticated side to Winter McQuinn’s solo music.

Featuring talented musicians Jack Kinder and Lewis Mosley from fellow Third Eye Stimuli family, Hot Apple Band, as well as Elena Jones from Sunfruits and Jaspar Robinson, McQuinn and co create a unique space through their artful intersections of hope and tragedy. A series of anthems for the future, settled in a post psych-folk and 70s soft rock energy, McQuinn takes influence from the new-wave of 70s folk and rock influenced artists from the USA's West Coast such as Sylvie, Cut Worms, John Andrews, Anna St Louis, The Lemon Twigs and more. This album showcases a step up in songwriting and production for Winter McQuinn who’s ever evolving style and commitment to creating is inspiring. The album cover design was hand painted by renowned folk / baroque pop artist Leah Senior and portrays McQuinn in different settings around Anglesea and the studio. 

Move To The Trees is set for release on April 5th 2024 via Third Eye Stimuli Records and Echodelick (USA). Pre-order limited edition vinyl now.



1. Daffodil 
2. I Will Be The Same
3. Red Wool
4. Sitting In The Trees
5. In This Life
6. Time Passes By
7. I Wanna Live
8. Hills
9. Honey


Engineered, produced and mixed by Jesse Williams
Mastered by Colin Leadbeater
Artwork by Leah Senior
All songs written by Winter McQuinn except ‘I Will Be The Same’, written by Winter McQuinn & Jack Kinder, Lewis Mosley

All songs performed by Winter McQuinn, Elena Jones, Lewis Mosley, Jack Kinder and Jaspar Robinson
Additional Rhodes on ‘I Will Be The Same’ by Jesse Williams
Additional Strings on ‘Time Passes By’ by Isabella Ambrose
Recorded on Wadawurrung Country / Anglesea

Records & Merch

bottom of page