top of page

Various Artists -  We're Gonna Miss You (TES019)

TES019 Various Artists-We're Gonna Miss You.jpg

About the Album

WE'RE GONNA MISS YOU: An Aussie Tribute to Roky Erickson & The 13th Floor Elevators

Released exclusively via Third Eye Stimuli Records in December of 2020, the first pressing of 500 copies sold out in a matter of months, generating $5,730 total proceeds that were donated to Support Act and Black Dog Institute. The funds contributed to a range of mental health initiatives, from Support Act’s COVID-19 relief fund and mental health helpline, through to research in suicide prevention and developing education programs in mental health at Black Dog Institute.

We are now thrilled to announce the second pressing edition of this wonderful tribute, available on 180g vinyl, with 20% of profits donated to Support Act and Black Dog Institute once again.

'We're Gonna Miss You' is the first posthumous tribute to one of the most influential pioneers of 'psychedelic' rock, Roger ‘Roky’ Erickson. Despite leaving his earthly incarnation in 2019, echoes of Roky's creations, particularly his work with 60’s Austin rockers The 13th Floor Elevators, are certainly alive and well today.

His story wasn’t without its darker shades. Caught between a revolution, the correctional system and his own battles with mental health, Roky spent years subject to electrotherapy and the debilitating side effects of treatment drugs like thorazine, before his creative spirit (alongside help from the very musicians he influenced) summoned him back to the stage.

Paying homage to Roky, his resilience and his contribution to modern music, eleven artists from the Australian music community have united to produce an iconic tribute album, all in the name of raising much needed funds for mental health.

Sydney-based producer Dan Frizza approached Rick Snowden and Josh White from Third Eye Stimuli Records during 2019 and together, they carefully curated a slew of exciting rock acts including Rosa Maria, Buried Feather, Turtle Skull, The Jim Mitchells, Jak Housden (The Whitlams), Misty Lanes, Luke Spook, Pseudo Mind Hive, Charlie Gradon, The Flamingo Jones and Joe Ghatt (NZ) – the result is a potent psych-rock compilation tastefully honouring Roky's music and spirit, continuing his explorations in the 'psychedelic' sound. 



All songs by Hall-Erickson except 'YOU’RE GONNA MISS ME' / 'TWO HEADED DOG' written by Erickson, 'TRIED TO HIDE' written by by Hall-Sutherland and 'REVERBERATION' written by Erickson-Hall-Sutherland.

Mastered by: Michael Lynch at Shoehorse Sound
Art & Design by: Jim Grimwade
Curated by: Dan Frizza & Third Eye Stimuli Records

Records & Merch

bottom of page